911 Communications

Dispatch Desks

Douglas County Emergency Communications (DCEC) 911 is a division of the Douglas County Sheriff's Office. DCEC is staffed with an Operations Manager, three shift supervisors and seventeen telecommunicators. The shift supervisors are on duty or available by cell phone 24 hours a day. The division is managed by Operations Manager Heather Gray and is commanded by Lt. Brad O'Dell.

DCEC is the 911 answering point for all of Douglas County. The communications center receives and dispatches calls for police, fire and Emergency Medical Services (EMS). All telecommunicators are Emergency Medical Dispatch (EMD) certified, using state approved pre-arrival instructions.

Enhanced System

The Douglas County 911 system is enhanced. The phone number and address where the call is originating is displayed on a computer screen in the communications center.

There are 8 incoming 911 lines and 16 business telephone lines. There are 13 radio channels, seven of which are monitored 24 hours a day.

Agencies Using the DCEC

Six police agencies utilize DCEC services. These include: 

  • Cow Creek Tribal Police Department
  • Douglas County Sheriff's Office
  • Myrtle Creek Police Department
  • Roseburg Police Department
  • Sutherlin Police Department
  • Winston Police Department

DCEC dispatches for 28 fire agencies, and nine ambulance services.